Overcoming Rejection and Loneliness

Below is an example of print outs that are located on our website at http://www.ariseprayerministries.org. For the most part they are testimonies from members of our church concerning the faithfulness and deliverance of Jesus. They are written so that others may have tools to use to minister. Please feel free to download anything that might be helpful in aiding you to present the healing power of Jesus.

“I Myself will be the Shepherd of My sheep, and I Myself will make them lie down, declares the Lord God. I will seek the lost and I will bring back the strayed, and I will bind up the injured, and I will strengthen the weak…” Ezekiel 34:15-16

One woman’s story:

I was married to a man who not only did not love me, but despised me because I was a constant reminder of how he had been outwitted by another. To make matters worse, I was not his only wife. He was also married to my sister and she was the one whom he loved. It was the custom of my day, but it forced me to live in a continual state of rejection. I thought I could earn his love by giving him sons, and although my sister was barren, his love did not turn my direction. With every pregnancy, my hopes were dashed as I slowly came to realize that I would be cared for, but not accepted. No one can live in the continual pain of rejection. We are designed by our Creator to be sustained by love. Every human spirit will wilt under the tyranny of rejection.

This story may sound familiar to you. It is the story of Leah, who along with Rachel, are the mothers of the twelve tribes of Israel found in the first book of the Bible in Genesis. It’s a confusing story, but one with great insight into the human heart. Although there may be cultural ideas that are foreign to us today, most of us can understand the deep pain in Leah’s heart because we too have experienced rejection in many forms. Loneliness and rejection have a life of their own and often, the pain takes over to the point of isolation. When we isolate ourselves out of fear of more rejection, we create the very thing that we are so fearful of encountering. It is a vicious cycle, but one that Jesus wants to eradicate in our lives.

“He seeks after those that have been driven away” Ecclesiastes 3:15

It’s easily missed in Leah’s story, but if we look closer, we see that Leah found her freedom. In Genesis 29: 31-35 we see the progression of Leah’s struggle and her ultimate healing. The scripture says that the Lord saw her pain and he opened her womb to give Jacob children. With her first three children, she names them with the thought in mind that her husband will turn his heart toward her, but as she gives birth to her fourth child, Judah, she has turned her attention away from attempting to gain approval from her husband Jacob, to learning that God is the one whom she needs to be seeking. Upon looking at Judah, she says, “This time, I will praise the Lord.”

If you are struggling with the effects of rejection in your life, please know this: Only God can satisfy the longing for love in your heart. Often, we look to people to satisfy needs within our souls, but the fact is that when we do that, we have set another person in the place that God has reserved for Himself. Its called idolatry. When we begin to see that, and we cry out to Jesus for healing and forgiveness, He shows us what we have been looking for all along…the love of the Father. Only the Holy Spirit of God can heal the wounded heart that has lived under the bondage of rejection. When you look to the Savior to deliver you from the agony of your soul, you find the truth which Romans 8:15 states, “For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by Him we cry, ‘Abba, Father.’”

“God sets the lonely in families, He leads forth prisoners with singing.” Psalm 68:6

About Anna Kristene

Wife, mother, grandmother, student, teacher, mentor who loves Jesus.
This entry was posted in Healing and Deliverance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overcoming Rejection and Loneliness

  1. macki jones says:

    This is a wonderful article. I had never looked at Leah in that way before. Thanks for offering a new perspective.

Leave a Reply

