If You Utter Worthy Words

words

‘Therefore this is what the LORD says: “If you repent, I will restore you that you may serve me; if you utter worthy, not worthless, words, you will be my spokesman…”  Jeremiah 15:19 (NIV)

Have you ever wondered what exactly God meant when He said to Jeremiah if you utter worthy words?  Jeremiah was certainly God’s prophet and had faithfully delivered the message that had been given to him even though it got him into constant trouble with the Lord’s very own people.  In the English Standard Version, this same verse says, “…If you utter what is precious and not what is worthless, you shall be as my mouth.”  It is easy to think that God is reminding Jeremiah that he has been called as a prophet and that he is only to speak God’s words to the people and not words out of his own imaginings.

While it is true that prophets need to guard against being pressured to speak only what the people want to hear, and that they need to seek the Lord’s heart before they stand before others to proclaim the Lord’s message, this may not exactly be the directive that Jeremiah received in this case.  If we put this scripture in context, we see the condition of the prophet’s heart.  He had become very discouraged and on some level, he was blaming God.

“Your words were found and I ate them, And Your words became for me a joy and the delight of my heart; For I have been called by Your name, O LORD God of hosts.  I did not sit in the circle of merrymakers, Nor did I exult.  Because of Your hand upon me I sat alone, For You filled me with indignation.  Why has my pain been perpetual and my wound incurable, refusing to be healed?  Will You indeed be to me like a deceptive stream with water that is unreliable?”

It is after speaking these words that the Lord tells His man to repent.  In essence He is saying, the words you are speaking to yourself Jeremiah are worthless and full of unbelief.  You need to extract faith filled words from within your soul and speak those forth in your own hearing.  I have called you for a specific purpose and I need you to be separate from all the distraction around you.  I need you to have singleness of heart for my purposes.  If you do that, you will see my faithfulness come to fruition.  I will restore you in the purposes that I have ordained for you and you will be my mouthpiece.

What are the inner words that you are speaking to yourself today concerning the promises of God?  We would look at Jeremiah and say that if anyone deserved to have a pity party, even briefly, it would be Jeremiah.  But, the Lord didn’t think so.  No where in the Bible do we see God respond positively to unbelief.  And, he is no respecter of persons.

Listen, it does not matter what your emotions are saying to you.  It does not matter what your circumstances look like.  God is able!  He is able to bring beauty out of ashes.  He has every right to put anything He desires on the pottery wheel and remake it into something completely new.  “Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things unseen.”  The Lord looks at our circumstances and says, do you not remember that I spoke the world into existence?  Do you think that I cannot speak a word into your world and create what I choose? 

Just know dear reader that the Lord longs to use you in His Kingdom plan.  He longs to answer the deep burden of your heart.  He has more blessing for His children than we can contain, but in order to appropriate it, He needs to see something.  The Lord does not look at outward circumstances, He looks upon the heart.  What does He see?  Does He see someone outwardly pretending; or does He see a restful faith as we look to the Faithful One for deliverance and renewal?  It is our choice.  “Without faith, it is impossible to please God.” Hebrews 11:6

 

About Anna Kristene

Wife, mother, grandmother, student, teacher, mentor who loves Jesus.
This entry was posted in Encouragment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

